The Republic of Kosovo is an independent, sovereign, democratic, unique and inseparable state. The Republic of Kosovo is a democratic republic based on the principle of division of governments and check and balances among them. In the Republic of Kosovo the legislative power is exercised by the Assembly of the Republic of Kosovo. As such, the Assembly of the Republic of Kosovo is the highest representative and legislative institution in Republic of Kosovo directly elected by the people. The Assembly comprises 120 deputies elected by secret ballot. However, not all deputies are elected by the free vote of the people – secret and democratic voting.


Twenty of deputy seats are reserved for supplementary representation of other non-Albanian communities, and of those, ten seats for the Serbian community and ten seats for Roma, Ashkali and Egyptian community 4, Bosnian community 3, Turkish community 2 and Gorani community 1.
The mandate for the composition of legislature by the Assembly of Kosovo shall be three years from the first inaugurating session.


The Assembly of the Republic of Kosovo has these responsibilities:

  1. Adopts laws and resolutions in the areas of responsibility of interim institutions
  2. Elects the Presidency of the Assembly
  3. Elects the President of the Assembly
  4. Approves the candidate for the Prime minister together with the list of ministers of the Government, proposed by the candidate for Prime minister
  5. Reviews and ratifies the proposed international agreements, within the scope of its responsibilities; decides about the motions of trust vote against the Government
  6. Guides the Government in the preparation of the draft laws
  7. Approves the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly and of the parliamentary committees
  8. Has other responsibilities pursuant to the Constitutional Frame or other legal instruments.


To meet its responsibilities the Assembly convenes every week. The Presidency of the Assembly is responsible for reviewing and preparing the daily agenda of the Assembly for the meeting of the previous week and the temporary daily agenda for two weeks ahead.

The approval of the government’s decisions is reached with consensus and if there is not consensus then the approval is done with the majority of the votes of members present. To the right to present the draft laws in the Assembly are entitled the Government, the President of Republic of Kosovo, the Assembly deputies, or at least ten thousand citizens as provided for by the law. After the process of presenting the draft law the process goes through these phases:

  1. The first review of the draft law, which is done not earlier than ten working days and not later than three working weeks after its dissemination, includes the approval in principle of the draft law and this review does not allow any amendments
  2. After the approval of the first review the draft law is reviewed by the respective functional committee, Budget Committee and Judicial, Legislative, and Constitutional Frame Committee
  3. The Committee on Rights and Interests of Communities reviews a draft law only when it is required by a member of the Presidency or by the majority of the members of the Committee for Communities. During this review recommendations are drafted in the committees in relation with the amendments that are considered necessary and based on which the draft law can be recommended for approval during the second review
  4. The Assembly reviews the amendments proposed by the committees and so does the amendments proposed by the Government, by the groups of deputies, and by individual deputies before deciding about the approval of the second review
  5. After the amendments were selected for review, were approved, or were rejected, the final voting is made for the draft law in general with its amendments
  6. If a draft law is not approved in the second review, the person making the proposal may request the approval of the Assembly for further review-third review
  7. The laws adopted either in the second adoption or in the third adoption are signed by the President of the Assembly within 48 hours and then they are submitted to the Special Representative of the Secretary General (SRSG) to promulgate them
  8. The laws shall enter into force on the day of their promulgation by SRSG, unless otherwise provided for by the law.

For more information about the work of the deputies in plenary sessions, the laws in procedure, the adopted and amended laws, the activities of the President and the Presidency of the Assembly of Kosovo, the Committees and Parliamentary Groups, planned schedules of activities, and resolutions, declarations and important decisions of the Assembly of Kosovo, please visit the official web-page of the Assembly.

Vizito faqen